Parish meetings

A parish meeting was held on Thursday July 2nd 2015. These are the minutes.
1  Fr Gerry opened the meeting with prayer.  As an introduction, Fr Gerry read Pope Francis’ thoughts on a Parish para 28 of Evangelii Gaudium.
2  Parish Finances – Last year’s accounts were distributed and after discussion were accepted. Future maintenance projects are the repair of the external door (under the cross) and the repair and painting of the large stained glass window in the gallery.
Holiday Club – Theresa Mortimore reported on this.  The Club has been running for 30 years and has contributed a substantial amount to parish funds.  More members are needed and people were asked to spread the word among family and friends.
3 Parish Catechetics – Diane distributed a report on Sacraments of                  Initiation, Children’s Liturgy and young people’s involvement in the Mass.
4  Liturgy – John Howes circulated a report.  Having experienced problems with the sound system, and having consulted with experts, it was agreed to purchase a new amplifier and speakers.
John also reported on the parish website which has been revamped.   We are fortunate that he updates material every week.
5 UCM – a report was read by Sue Leary, Chair of our UCM.
6 Adult Education – Brian Davies tabled a report on Cafod, Justice & Peace, Breaking the Word, the Living Faith Programme and a proposed study group on the Pope’s encyclical Laudato Si was distributed and discussed.
7  Year of Mercy begins 8th December 2015 – Pope Francis has asked that this special year should be celebrated at parish level.  We will need to meet and consult together how we might do this together.
8 Parish outreach and mission – Discussion took place re Bilton Churches Together and the Inter-Faith Forum.
9. It was agreed to have another meeting in September.
10 The meeting closed with prayer.

The history of Sacred Heart Parish Council

Sacred Heart Parish has had a flourishing parish pastoral council for many years. The most recent chairs of the parish council are listed below:
2012 – Vashti Southarn and Caroline Warburton
2011 – John Howes
2010 – Michael Floyd
2009 – Brian Davies
2008 – Brian Davies
2002 – Michael Floyd
1998 – Geraldine Reid
1993 – Michael Floyd
1992 – Michael Floyd

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s